Staff Directory

Rick Ashton
Library Director
rashton@dglibrary.org
Rick joined the library as Director in September 2011. He previously served as Director of the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and, for twenty years, as City Librarian (Chief Executive) of the Denver Public Library. He enjoys working with the Library Board, staff, and community to provide great public library service in Downers Grove.
Melissa Doornbos
Public Relations Manager, Adult Program Coordinator
mdoornbos@dglibrary.org
Melissa began working at the library in 2010 and looks forward to many more years of fun and hard work while here. She is a self-proclaimed bookworm who enjoys running, vacationing, and doing Random Acts of Kindness.
Jen Fredericks
Technical Services Manager
jfredericks@dglibrary.org
Jen joined our team in December 2013. She previously served as head cataloger at Lisle Library, a position she held for ten years, and as Assistant Director of Reference Services as well. She enjoys spending time with family, reading about sociological issues, going to concerts, gardening, cooking, and entertaining.
Dale Galiniak
Information Technology Manager
dgaliniak@dglibrary.org
After descending the hidden stairs, you find yourself in the forgotten library catacombs, where an IT Manager has made his lair. You see old computer parts strewn about everywhere. It's pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
Melanie Mertz
Circulation Manager
mmertz@dglibrary.org
Melanie has lived in Downers Grove for 38 years...great place to raise children and use the library! She has been part of the DGPL staff team for 10 years.
Susan O’Brien
Assistant Director for Support Services
sobrien@dglibrary.org
Sue has worked at the Downers Grove Public Library as a Reference Librarian, Literature and Audio Services Librarian, and Department Head before becoming the Assistant Director for Support Services. She especially enjoys reading mysteries.
Sara Pemberton
Children's Services Manager
spemberton@dglibrary.org
As a child, Miss Sara used the wrap-around library, especially to check out Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books. She has been with the Downers Grove Public Library for "quite a while" and is a personal friend of Miss Mouse.
Bonnie Reid
Assistant Director for Public Services
breid@dglibrary.org
Bonnie has worked at the library for 30 years, first as a Reference Librarian, then as Manager of the Reference Department and now as Assistant Director for Public Services. She has enjoyed helping patrons with their information needs, talking about great nonfiction books with readers, and planning the library's future.
Nicole Wilhelms
Adult & Teen Services Manager
nwilhelms@dglibrary.org
Nicole has worked in a library in one way or another since college. She attended the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign and her first job out of graduate school was at the Downers Grove Public Library.
Ask Us Desk
askus@dglibrary.org
Book a Librarian
askus@dglibrary.org
Book a Tech
techsupport@dglibrary.org
Children's Services Desk
jrdesk@dglibrary.org
Circulation Services
circdsk@dglibrary.org
Janet Cole
Adult & Teen Librarian
jcole@dglibrary.org
Computer Help Desk
computerdesk@dglibrary.org
Melody Danley
Staff Artist
mdanley@dglibrary.org
Shannon Gruber
Adult & Teen Librarian
sgruber@dglibrary.org
Sharon Hrycewicz
Children's Librarian
shrycewicz@dglibrary.org
Annie Jagielski
Technology Trainer
ajagielski@dglibrary.org
Rachel Kruty
Accounting/HR
rkruty@dglibrary.org
Karen Neal
Adult & Teen Librarian
kneal@dglibrary.org
Cheryl Pawlak
Circulation Assistant Manager
cpawlak@dglibrary.org
Lynette Pitrak
Adult & Teen Librarian
lpitrak@dglibrary.org
Traci Skocik
Children's Librarian
tskocik@dglibrary.org
Mary Ann Styrczula
Digital Librarian
mstyrczula@dglibrary.org
Marianne Trautvetter
Adult & Teen Librarian, Homebound Delivery
mtrautvetter@dglibrary.org
Lorel Trout
Interlibrary Loan Supervisor
ltrout@dglibrary.org
Katelyn Vabalaitis
Administrative Assistant
kvabalaitis@dglibrary.org
Webmaster
webmaster@dglibrary.org
Deb Wischmeyer
Adult & Teen Librarian
dwischmeyer@dglibrary.org